Maverick Maniac's Musings

August 7, 2008

USA – Japan Olympic Soccer Postgame Thoughts

Filed under: Soccer — Jon Green @ 11:07 am

I know I don’t usually talk much about USA Soccer on here, but deal with it.  It’s a big passion of mine.

Just gone done watching the first Olympic match and yikes… I must say, even though the USA won 1-0, they can only be described as lucky.  Japan should have won this game.  Chance after chance Japan barely missed.  Several missed penalties in the box (Maurice Edu is a lucky man).  The ref was not great both ways in my opinion.  Freddy Adu had a tough time getting any calls and Michael Bradley picked up a yellow that made NO sense to me.  But the USA got lucky.  Brian McBride played a lot better, but the solo placing of him up top with Adu behind doesn’t seem to work well.  I’d like to see Jozy Altidore up there with McBride next game.  Sacha Klejstan did not impresse me this morning and I’d purpose to take him out of the lineup and replace him with Altidore up top.  I’d like to see a 4-4-2.  Wynne – Edu – Parkhurst – Orozco in the back.  Michael Bradley as a defensive mid (It worked for him today) with Holden on the Left and Rogers on the Right.. Adu in the front… then Jozy playing with McBride up top.  (Ussoccer.com does have Adu as a F in their match tracker… so maybe this was technically a 4-4-2)… either way I like my lineup better.

Major probs to Robbie Rogers and Marvel Wynne for impressive performances today in my mind.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

