Maverick Maniac's Musings

June 4, 2008

Why Don’t We Trust God?

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jon Green @ 4:46 am

I was listening to a sermon today by CJ Maheney, from the New Attitude Conference a couple weekends ago.  You can listen to it here, I highly recommend it. http://sgm.edgeboss.net/download/sgm/na/2008/na08-session8.mp3

He tells a story about Russell Moore, the Senior Vice President for Academic Administration at The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.  Moore went to Russia with his wife to adopt two orphans. They had to go, get all the paperwork approved, and then could return to Russia to get the children. The two boys they were to get were in an orphanage that nearly made them vomit when they walked it.  It was a terrible place for children to be living.  The children were very sad when they had to go the first time, and it was a tough parting.  When they returned, they took the children and left.  The Children had never been outside the orphanage before. They were scared of the sun, scared of the car, scared of everything new. In their fear, they clang to the one thing they knew, the orphanage. They looked back in desperation, now wishing to return.  Moore would whisper to them in English (which they didn’t know of course) that the new place would be so much better, that they had no idea what they were missing out.  They had no idea how much better it would be.  Even if he could have communicated in Russian, I don’t think it would have effected them.  They were scared of the unknown, scared of giving up what they had, for fear that what they were getting might be worse and bad for them.

Now if you’re a Christian, you’ve been adopted by God.  We are no longer enemies of God, but are now sons and daughters of God, adopted into His family.  This adoption CJ points out, is much like the one Moore experienced.  We are scared of the unknown, scared that giving up what we know, and cling to (our sin) is going to be bad for us.  Yet God is a great God, a loving God, who only wills good for us.  He knows us better than we can ever know ourselves, and knows the best for us.

So the application that came to my mind immediately was my response to Ephesians 5:1-4.

1Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children;

2and walk in love, just as Christ also loved you and gave Himself up for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God as a fragrant aroma.

3But immorality or any impurity or greed must not even be named among you, as is proper among saints;

4and there must be no filthiness and silly talk, or coarse jesting, which are not fitting, but rather giving of thanks.

In particular, verses 3 and 4. I usually read those, go yep… that’s what we’re to do, but don’t really change my way of living. I still want to go see those movies that I know are not going to be God honoring at all.  I still want to watch that TV show I know is going to be full of sexual jokes. I want to see that movie, even though I know God’s name will be dragged through the mud, along with my mind (from all the sexual jokes, etc.).  Why do I want to see that movie?  I’m clinging to my sin. I’m not trusting God’s word, as a good idea.  I’m saying, “God, I know you say I shouldn’t watch these things, but I’m not sure that’s a good idea.  I need to be entertained, and everyone else is.  So I should too.  I mean, they didn’t have movies back then, so Paul probably didn’t know what he was missing out on.  I mean, Superbad is REALLY funny I hear… I’m sure it won’t be THAT bad for me.” What am I doing? I’m not trusting his Word. He tells us these things because it is better for us. He knows that our lives will be better by missing out on these movies and shows, that we won’t be saddened by missing them, that it will be better for our Spiritual Growth.  We need to trust God, trust his promises and trust his Word.  This means obeying it, and knowing that it will be better for us!

It’s time to stop clinging to the sin that we grew up loving, and realize that as sons and daughters of God, it’s time to cling to Him.  He’s adopted us from sin into new everlasting life, given us a new love for Him!  May we trust in God, and let go of the sin we still cling to!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

